What’s new at the Harness Racing Museum?


Known as “Hurricane Hannah” for having taken amateur racing by storm, Hannah Miller has been named the 2016 Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame Amateur Driving Champion.

Amateur drivers from driving clubs throughout the U.S. and Canada compete for the Museum’s Amateur Driving Championship. It is won each year by the amateur driver donating the most driver’s commissions to the Museum. Previous winners are Edward B. Rudner (1995), Bud Hatfield (1996, 1999 & 2000), Joe Pennacchio (1997), Lella McIlmurray (1998), Alan Schwartz (2001), Robert Krivelin (2002 & 2004), Gene Miller (2003), Scott Woogen (2005), Dein Spriggs (2006), Tony Verruso (2008), Todd Whitney (2010), Bob Hechkoff (2013), Steve Oldford (2009, 2011, 2012, 2014 & 2015).

In 2015 Hannah Miller drove at 21 different racetracks in the United States and Canada and represented the U.S. in an international amateur driving competition in Majorca, Spain. She is a member of multiple amateur driving clubs and dominated in the 2015 C.K.G. Billings Series, finishing as the combined points champion and winning the east region final at Pocono Downs. Her 32 driving victories are the most ever in a single season in recorded amateur racing. In September 2016, Miller will represent the U.S. in the international amateur World Cup in Budapest, Hungary.

The Harness Racing Museum will recognize Miller with a perpetual trophy naming her 2016 Museum Amateur Champion and a portrait that will be presented to her at the Hall of Fame induction ceremony July 3, 2016.